September 19, 2019

Nevells, Weiss get LTC honor

Nathan Nevells of Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln and Andrew Weiss of Rockland were recognized as 2007 LTC Class C football players of the year during the conference’s annual awards banquet held Sunday.

This marks the first time in LTC history two players have shared the award, according to Mike Archer, athletic administrator at Orono High School.

Nevells, a senior offensive guard and linebacker, anchored a Mattanawcook defense that allowed just 124 yards per game and 1.7 yards per rushing attempt this season.

He finished atop the LTC’s defensive point ratings, which awards points in a variety of defensive categories. Nevells had 74 solo tackles, 47 assists, and 4.5 quarterback sacks, and he recovered a fumble that he returned for a touchdown as he led coach Art Greenlaw’s Lynx to a 7-3 record that included a berth in the LTC semifinals.

Weiss, a senior quarterback, halfback and defensive back, was injured while playing quarterback in the first game of the season – his fourth as the Tigers’ starting signal-caller. He then switched to halfback and gained more than 800 rushing yards in the next eight games before returning to quarterback when Rockland played at Foxcroft Academy in the LTC semifinals.

Weiss finished with 843 yards and seven touchdowns on 115 carries for an average of 7.3 yards per rush. He also had eight pass receptions for 224 yards and three touchdowns and passed for 226 yards and four more touchdowns. On defense, Weiss was in on 54 total tackles and had one pass interception.

Other players nominated for LTC player of the year were Nate Warren of Bucksport, Adam Rush of Dexter, Jerod Rideout of Foxcroft Academy, Kyle Gallant of John Bapst of Bangor, Seth Dwyer of Orono, Cory Barnett of Stearns of Millinocket, Ed Rodriguez of Mount View of Thorndike and Jeff Morton of Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield.

Coach of the year honors went to Dan O’Connell of John Bapst. O’Connell led John Bapst to a 9-2 overall record and a berth in the LTC championship game, the Crusaders’ first title-game appearance since 1991. John Bapst dropped a one-point decision at Foxcroft Academy in its season opener, then ran off nine consecutive victories, including a come-from-behind 15-14 win over Mattanawcook Academy in the LTC semifinals.

Undefeated Foxcroft then edged John Bapst 14-7 in the LTC final en route to winning the Class C state championship.

Orono High School was presented the sportsmanship award from the Eastern Maine Board of Football Officials. This marked the third time in the last four years coach Bob Sinclair’s Red Riots have earned this award.

Hersom gains PTC honor

Jack Hersom, who quarterbacked Lawrence of Fairfield to its second straight Eastern Maine Class A football championship this fall, has been named Pine Tree Conference Class A player of the year.

Rob Vachon, who helped Cony of Augusta not only end a 27-game losing streak but guided the Rams to a playoff berth, was named the conference’s coach of the year.

In PTC Class B, quarterback Kyle Stilphen of Gardiner and running back Darrus Grate of Morse of Bath were named offensive players of the year, while linebacker Brad Carleton, also of Gardiner, was named defensive player of the year.

Jason Libby of Morse earned PTC Class B coach of the year honors, while Pete Higgins of Leavitt of Turner received the Jim Poulin assistant coach of the year award.

The awards were presented during the annual PTC football awards banquet held recently in Waterville.

Grover wins Gatorade award

Mount Desert Island High School’s Mariah Grover was named the 2007-08 Gatorade Maine Volleyball Player of the Year. It’s the second time she’s won the award.

The 6-foot-3 senior led the Trojans with 144 kills and 51 solo blocks to propel 16-1 MDI to its second consecutive state final appearance. Grover had nine kills and five blocks in the title match against Greely of Cumberland Center. On the season, the middle blocker had 32 aces and delivered 93 percent of her serves without an error.

Grover is now a finalist for the Gatorade National Volleyball Player of the Year award to be announced in mid-December.

The award recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence but also high standards in academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the court.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner from each state and the District of Columbia that sanction high school football, volleyball, cross country, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball and boys and girls track and field.

Ernie Clark may be reached at or 990-8045.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like