April 09, 2020

Students garner honors, display work> 4 selected to attend Massachusetts Maritime environmental conference

Four high school students will attend the fourth annual Massachusetts Maritime-New England Aquarium High School Environmental Symposium the weekend of Feb. 27-28: Brian Corrigan of Ellsworth; Derek Sawyer of Stonington; and Seth Hawkins and Matthew Martin of Deer Isle. The symposium, held each year on the Massachusetts Maritime Academy campus, is the only environmental event of its kind in the country. It attracts more than 40 of the nation’s top environmental organizations, representing a cross section of environmental issues. —-

Two local students have made the first trimester honor roll at Hebron Academy in Hebron: Sonja Heyck-Merlin, a junior from Stetson, finished with high honors, and Jesse Fogg, a freshman from Bar Harbor, finished with honors. —-

Students at the Skowhegan Regional Vocational Center will participate in a skill-showcase competition from 7 to 9 p.m. Jan. 27, during the center’s open house. Skills will be demonstrated in automotive technology, advanced office technology, carpentry construction, electrical construction, digital graphic arts, food service, outdoor resources and health occupations. —-

An exhibit of self-portraits done by first- through eighth-grade pupils in the Brooklin School is on display in the school’s art room. The pupils worked from photographs taken by a digital camera and spent weeks capturing their own likenesses with paper and pencil. The community is welcome to visit the exhibit before 8 a.m., after 3 p.m., or by checking with the school secretary during the school day. —-

Five Maine students from Northfield Mount Hermon, an independent college-preparatory school in Northfield, Mass., have earned academic honors for the fall term: Eleanor Bartolomeo, a junior, the daughter of Linnell Mather and Carl R. Bartolomeo of Vinalhaven; Jessica Espinosa, a senior, the granddaughter of William R. and Doris T. Becker of Camden; Brittney Larrabee, a junior, the daughter of Terry and Darrell Larrabee of Owls Head; Abbie Leonard, a postgraduate senior, the daughter of Nancy and Brian Leonard of Camden; and Sarah Willson, a senior, the daughter of Mary and Brian Willson of Rockland, and of Carol and Paul Storer of Waldoboro. —-

U.S. Sen. Susan Collins has nominated 34 Maine students for admission to the nation’s military academies. Collins may fill one vacancy at each academy, but may nominate up to 10 students for each vacancy. It is then up to each service academy to make the final choices.

Following are students who have been recommended for admission, some at more than one academy:

U.S. Military Academy nominees: Brian F. Toole of Hebron, Jody J. Daigle of Frenchville, Mathew D. Dagan of Brownfield, Andrew Q. Adams of Calais, Karen L. Hebold of Raymond, James D. Smith of Whiting, Brad D. Bannon of South Portland, Sean Cole of Dexter, Nolan W. Hood of Phippsburg and Steven S. Rizzo of Gorham.

U.S. Air Force Academy nominees: Michael R. May of Topsham, Barrett A. Brown of Palmyra, Mathew D. Dagan of Brownfield, Andrew Q. Adams of Calais, Eric S. Grover, James D. Smith of Whiting, Heather M. Gagnon of Biddeford, Jarred Roderiques of Smithfield, Karen L. Hebold of Raymond and John D. Phillips of Vassalboro.

U.S. Naval Academy nominees: Brian F. Toole of Hebron, Amanda F. Burrill of Winterport, Mathew D. Dagan of Brownfield, Joseph H. Adams of Corinna, Zachary W. Groom of Cumberland Center, Richard Linnell of Rangeley, Jared M. Moore of Yarmouth and Jennifer A. Cramer of Naples.

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy nominees: Josh Colfer of Augusta, John D. Phillips of Vassalboro, Jarred Roderiques of Smithfield, James Curtis of Bucksport, Sean Cole of Dexter and Andrew Q. Adams of Calais. —-

U.S. Sen. Olympia Snowe has announced her nominees to the U.S. service academies.

Nominees to the U.S. Military Academy in West Point, N.Y., include: Andrew Adams of Calais, Calais High School; Joseph Adams of Corinna, Nokomis Regional High School; Amanda Burrill of Winterport, Hampden Academy; Jennifer Cramer of Naples, Catherine MacAuley High School; Matthew Dagan of Brownfield, Fryeburg Academy; Zachary Groom of Yarmouth, Greely High School; Richard Linnell of Rangeley, Rangeley Lakes Regional High School; Jared Moore of Cumberland, Phillips Exeter Academy; Andrew Myers of Yarmouth, North Yarmouth Academy; Steven Rizzo of Gorham, Gorham High School; James Smith of Whiting, Washington Academy; and Brian Toole of Hebron, Hebron Academy.

Nominees to the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md., include Andrew Adams of Calais, Calais High School.

Nominees to the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colo., include Andrew Beckett of Robbinston, Calais High School.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like