March 29, 2020

Stewart Brecher of Stewart Brecher Architects, Bar Harbor, has been chosen 1998 president of the Maine chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

Other officers elected at the organization’s annual meeting held at Colby College in Waterville were Vice President Malcolm Collins of SMRT of Portland, and Secretary-Treasurer John D. Morris II of John D. Morris II Architects-Land Planners, Camden.

Brecher is a graduate of the Rhode Island School of Design, and established his practice in Maine after a long career in architectural education. Stewart Brecher Architects is currently developing designs for a natural history museum for College of the Atlantic and dormitories for Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory. —-

Dr. James Berry will be taking a six-month leave of absence from his family practice at Guilford Medical Associates to begin a fellowship in obstetrics at a community hospital in Los Angeles, Calif. He is among a small group of family practice physicians around the country to be chosen for this specialized fellowship.

While Dr. Berry is pursuing his fellowship, full-time coverage will be provided at Guilford Medical Associates by Dr. Usha Reddy and Lisa O. Bartley, a family nurse practitioner. Additional medical providers from other area practices may rotate in Guilford as needed. —-

E. Shippen “Ship” Bright, deputy commissioner of the Maine Department of Conservation, has been re-elected chairman of the John F. Kennedy School of Government Alumni Executive Council. The 20-member body, representing more than 15,000 alumni worldwide, works closely with the Office of Alumni Programs to strengthen relationships between the Kennedy School and its graduates. Bright is the first chairman to serve two terms, and provides continuity and well-informed oversight at a point of growth in alumni relations with the school. —-

Attorney Robert A. Laskoff, senior partner in the Lewiston litigation law firm of Laskoff & Associates, has co-authored an article titled “Creating a Supportive Law Office Family” with F. Dulin Kelly of Hendersonville, Tenn., which has been published in the January issue of Trial magazine. Laskoff, president of the Maine Trial Lawyers Association, has been practicing law for 27 years. —-

The following individuals have been selected for inclusion in the 1997 edition of Outstanding Young Women of America: Becky Jo Sutherland, Ellsworth; Melissa Marie Berends, Old Town; and Maureen Erin Collins, Orrington.

The OYWA program has honored men and women between the ages of 21 and 40 who have distinguished themselves in service to their communities, professional leadership, academic achievement, business advancement, cultural accomplishments, and civic and political participation since 1966. —-

Patricia Tanski, director of institutional relations at the Jackson Laboratory, has been named president of the Association of Independent Research Institutes, a nationwide group of 87 nonprofit, independent institutions conducting research in biomedical and behavioral sciences.

As the laboratory’s director of institutional relations, Tanski deals with trustees and corporation members, pharmaceutical and biotechnology firms, government and the community.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like