June 06, 2020

Liberty voters reject secret ballot for electing town officials

LIBERTY — Liberty voters at Saturday’s town meeting turned down an article to choose town officials by Australian ballot, unanimously agreeing to stick with the neighborly method of electing from the floor.

The article, on the warrant at the request of a resident, was defeated partly because no one objected to the current open method of voting and partly because of the expense the town would incur from a separate election.

Town officials returned to office by the crowd of about 80 were: Beulah Colby as clerk and tax collector; John Krueger, Ivan Davis and Dan McGovern as selectmen; Betsy Davis as treasurer; Dana Philippi as fire chief; and William Chadwick as road commissioner. Lorna Crichton was elected to the Budget Committee.

Voters turned down an article to raise $50,000 to rebuild and pave a section of the South Liberty-Palermo Road and to raise $600 to send a Liberty child to the Forest Friends Nursery School, but other financial articles passed as proposed. An ordinance to define the specific responsibilities of the Zoning Board of Appeals was approved.

First Selectmen John Krueger brought the voters some good news Saturday, reporting that the town should receive $12,000 in new revenue this year from the selective harvesting of a town-owned wood lot. The money will be used to reduce taxes.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like