January 21, 2020

Gamache wants rematch

LEWISTON – Joey Gamache, who was handed his first professional boxing loss defending his World Boxing Association lightweight title against Tony Lopez last month, is calling for a mandatory rematch.

Gamache said after reviewing his technical knockout on Oct. 24 that referee James Santa failed to check the swelling of his eye between rounds after Lopez accidentally headbutted him in the second round.

The Lewiston boxer and his promoters have compiled the video evidence and will send it to the WBA headquarters in Venezuela.

Gamache (29-1, 18 KOs) said he is more determined than ever to win his title back.

“No one can stop me. … I feel sorry for anyone who tries,” he told Lewiston’s Sunday Sun-Journal.

Gamache, whose left eye was swollen shut during the fight, was winning on points when the bout was stopped in the 11th round. He contends he would have been declared winner if Santa ruled the swelling resulted from the headbutt.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like