April 20, 2019

East-West Senior All-Stars named for games March 23

The premier basketball players in Classes A and B will showcase their talents on Saturday, March 23, at the Augusta Civic Center during the 11th McDonald’s East-West Senior All-Star Games.

Ten of the top players from Eastern Maine and 10 of the best from Western Maine were selected for each of the squads. Voting was done by basketball coaches from across the state.

The games are sponsored by McDonald’s Restaurants of Maine and Eastern New Hampshire, the Maine Association of Basketball Coaches and Coca-Cola Bottling of Northern New England.

The games involving the Classes A and B All-Stars will be played following the C-D session, which begins at noon. Tickets, which are available at the door, are $5 for adults, $3 for children under 12. A portion of the proceeds will benefit Ronald McDonald Children’s Charities of Maine.

Here are the All-Star rosters:

East A-B Boys: Eric Cowperthwaite, Houlton; Lenny Cole, Lawrence of Fairfield; Casey Costigan, Old Town; Todd Gammon, Presque Isle; and Ralph Hirtle, Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield. Also, Aaron McDonald, Stearns of Millinocket; Jason Parker, Messalonskee of Oakland; Shawn Thayer, Hermon; Scott Young, Presque Isle; and Darren Whitney, Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln.

The coaches are Hermon’s Clayton Blood and Ken Lindlof of Waterville.

West A-B Boys: Matt Gaudet, Mountain Valley of Rumford; Andre Hicks, Deering of Portland; Shawn Libby, Lake Region of Bridgton; Matt Murphy, Lewiston; and Mark O’Brien, Deering. Also selected were Fred Reeder, Deering; Scott Sawyer, South Portland; Jeff Tardif, Biddeford; Stephane Webster, York; and Keith Young, Gorham.

Ron Cote of Biddeford and Gorham’s Kevin Jenkins will coach the squad.

East A-B Girls: Kim Dahl, Houlton; Seana Dionne, Stearns; Neile Joler, Fort Kent; Holly Ludden, Mattanawcook; and Shelly Richardson, Caribou. Also, Steph Shaw, MCI; Missy Shorey, Rockland; Rita Sullivan, Bangor; Courtney Tilley, Houlton; and Lori Young, Orono.

The coaches are John Donato of Houlton and Paul Vachon, Cony of Augusta.

West A-B Girls: Allyson Aube, Gorham; Bobbi Jo Blodgett, Mountain Valley; Katie Knox, Maranacook of Readfield; April Linkletter, Madison; and Tara McGouldrick, South Portland. Other honorees include Catrina Rainey, Marshwood of Eliot; Karen Rogers, Westbrook; Lori Towle, South Portland; Jennifer Wheeler, Noble of Berwick; and Mary York, Catherine McAuley of Portland.

Terri Nelson of Noble and South Portland’s George Stevenson will coach the team.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like